Jimmy’s blog: Knoxville QB Club speakers feature seven first-timers

By Jimmy Hyams

An impressive array of speakers dot the lineup for the Knoxville Quarterback Club, including seven making their first appearance at Calhoun’s on the River.

The star-studded group includes former national championship coach Gene Chizik; president of the College Football Playoffs Bill Hancock; the Stadium Network’s Brett McMurphy, who broke the story regarding Urban Meyer and Zach Smith at Ohio State.

Former Florida receiver Chris Doering of ESPN will be the first speaker Sept. 10, followed by former Florida State quarterback Danny Kanell of ESPN. Kanell is making his first appearance at the Knoxville QB Club.

Other first-time speakers include former Washington quarterback Brock Huard of ESPN/SEC Network and recruiting analyst and college football sideline reporter for ESPN Tom Luginbill.

Tennessee first-year coach Jeremy Pruitt takes the podium Oct. 1.

Tennessee men’s basketball coach Rick Barnes will address the crowd Nov. 5 and UT athletic director Phillip Fulmer will speak Nov. 19.

Other speakers include former Georgia star Matt Stinchcomb of ESPN and former SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer, who won this year’s Neyland Award.

Cost to join is $175 for a regular individual membership, $150 for a senior. Corporate membership for up to eight is $1000; elite cooperate membership for up to eight with meals included is $2,500.

You can join the Knoxville QB Club and Big Orange Tipoff Club for $225; senior membership for both is $200.

To join go to the website Knoxqbclub.com or call 865-719-0465.

The Knoxville Quarterback Club meets on Mondays during football season at Calhoun’s on the River from 11:30 am to 1 pm. Program begins at noon.

During meetings, the Club honors high school football athletes of the week and high school football officials.

QB club speakers:

Sept. 10                Chris Doering, ESPN, former Florida receiver

Sept. 17                Danny Kanell, CBS, former Florida State quarterback

Sept. 24                Matt Stinchcomb, ESPN, former Georgia lineman

Oct. 1                    Jeremy Pruitt, UT football coach

Oct. 8                    Gene Chizik, ESPN, former Auburn coach

Oct. 15                  Bill Hancock, CFP president

Oct. 22                  Brock Huard, ESPN and SEC Network

Oct. 29                  Roy Kramer, former Neyland winner, former SEC commissioner

Nov. 5                   Rick Barnes, UT men’s basketball coach

Nov. 12                 Tom Luginbill, ESPN sideline reporter, recruiting analyst

Nov. 19                 Phillip Fulmer, UT athletic director

Nov. 26                 Brett McMurphy, Stadium Network


Sponsored by Big Kahuna Wings: The wings that changed it all



  • Forecast
  • Currents
  • Planner